[Skip to Content]

Double click to change color


Double click to change color

Entries are closed

Each year, the Ad Age Small Agency Awards uncover and honor small, independent agencies that are producing innovative and exciting work. These teams strategize and execute groundbreaking ideas to compete with work done by some of advertising's oldest, largest and most sought-after partners.

Our Small Agency Awards will be proceeding as usual—with one small change. The entry forms ask for revenue figures and we will still be requiring them. However, given current economic headwinds, no entry will be penalized for showing a loss. This is a hard time to win new business and convince clients to spend more, so rest assured that a dent in your financial column will not rule you out from being considered for an award. What counts, as always, is your creative product, your strategic thinking, your outcomes for clients and your responsiveness to your employees. View last year's winners.

The Small Agency Conference & Awards will go virtual this year! Stay tuned for updates. 

All finalists will be notified in July.

Entries closed

Questions? Contact Nicole Nelson

Double click to change color


Double click to change color

Agency of the Year: Overall 
Regional, international and size winners do not need to enter separately or pay an extra fee They are chosen from the entrants to the Agency of the Year category

Agency of the Year: by Size. Awarded in three size categories: 1-10, 11-75, 76-150

Agency of the Year: Regional 
Awarded for the Southeast, Southwest, Midwest, West, Northeast and Northwest Regions of the U.S.

Agency of the Year: International
Awarded to international entrants who enter the Agency of the Year category

Experiential Agency of the Year 

Experiential Agency of the Year will award one gold and one silver agency with 150 employees or fewer. 

Media Agency of the Year NEW

Media Agency of the Year will award one gold and one silver agency with 150 employees or fewer. 

Newcomer Agency of the Year NEW

Newcomer Agency of the Year will award one gold and one silver agency with 150 employees or fewer. Agency must have been in business for 18 months or less. Agencies founded after September 1, 2018, are eligible. 

Campaign of the Year: B-to-B

Campaign of the Year: Digital

​​​Campaign of the Year: Experiential

Campaign of the Year: Integrated

Campaign of the Year: Media NEW

Campaign of the Year: Pro Bono

Best Agency Culture

Agencies may win in more than one category. We award gold and silver in all categories.

Ad Age reserves the right to withhold or add awards as the quality of submissions dictates. 

Entries closed

Double click to change color


Double click to change color


Entry is open to agencies in three size categories:

•    1-10 people
•    11-75 people
•    76- 150 people

All agencies of all marketing disciplines are eligible to enter. Entrants must be majority-independent owned, or in other words, at minimum, 51% privately-held. Agencies who are not eligible are those who are either majority or fully-backed by a holding company (by this we mean firms like WPP, Omnicom Group, Publicis Groupe, Interpublic Group of Cos., Havas, Aegis or MDC Partners) or other firms, such as a publisher, marketer, etc.

Dates for submitted work

When discussing revenue/growth for the Small Agency of the Year award you should refer to 2019 financials and staff headcounts, giving as much guidance as possible for 2020 business. As far as submitting examples of work, all work done between January 1, 2019, and March 1, 2020 is eligible.

Entry fees

•    Agency of the Year: 1-10 Employees: $250

•    Agency of the Year: 11-75 Employees: $295

•    Agency of the Year: 76-150: $350

•    Experiential Agency of the Year: $295

•    Media Agency of the Year: $295

•    Newcomer of the Year: $295

•    Campaign of the Year - Experiential: $295

•    Campaign of the Year - Media: $295

•    Campaign of the Year - Integrated: $295

•    Campaign of the Year - Digital: $295

•    Campaign of the Year - B-to-B: $295

•    Campaign of the Year - Pro-Bono: $295

•    Best Agency Culture: $295

Final deadline Extended!

May 7, 2020, at 5pm EDT

Here’s what you’ll need for:

Agency of the Year (and International)

Campaign of the Year Categories

Agency Culture

General FAQ

Entries closed

Double click to change color


Double click to change color


The winners for all of the Ad Age Small Agency of the Year and Agency Culture categories are handpicked by the editorial staff at Ad Age. For the Campaign of the Year awards, an esteemed jury convened by Ad Age will choose the winners. See below for this year’s 2020 Small Agency Campaign of the Year award judges.


double click to edit

Doug Cameron

Founder and Chief Strategy & Creative Officer

DCX Growth Accelerator


double click to edit

Jordan Doucette


No Fixed Address

double click to edit

Steven Erich

President and Co-Founder

Erich & Kallman

double click to edit

Shannon Simpson Jones



double click to edit

Ryan Kutscher

Founder and Chief Creative Officer

Circus Maximus

double click to edit

David Littlejohn

Co-Founder and Chief Creative Director


double click to edit

Krystle Loyland

Co-Founder and CEO


double click to edit

Thas Naseemuddeen



double click to edit

Anselmo Ramos

Co-Founder and Chief Creative Officer


double click to edit

Tina VonderHaar

President and CEO


double click to edit

Frances Webster




*More judges to be announced soon. 


Double click to change color


Got questions? We're happy to help.

Award Inquiries:  aaevents@adage.com